12 years of emotions with more than 210 stars and 2000 Gault&Millau points

The best locations in the Canton of Ticino
12 years of history full of passion!

The history of Sapori Ticino is quite curious, since, with its modern and beating heart, this event has roots tied to a love for this delightful corner of Switzerland. We only need jump back into the recent past, namely to the birth year of Sapori Ticino, to find out who and what has given it life: let’s go back to 2007. In that year, Dany Stauffacher, a Ticino enthusiast, with great dedication brought together a large group of starred hotels and restaurants which, united by a common goal, decided to make their expertise available for the creation of an event that they knew would enhance the hospitality and beauty of the territory to which they belong.


The first edition had the following protagonists: Serge Vieira, Robert Speth, Karl Baumgartner, Roland Trettl and Marcus G. Lindner, all of whom immediately helped us understand how high level cuisine can be instrumental in supporting and enhancing a territory.


The knowledge and enthusiasm of these stars is what allows Sapori Ticino to have the best, given that many of the protagonists of that edition also won new and ambitious titles. The Chefs of Sapori Ticino have thus opened the doors of their kitchens to Valentino Mercattilii, Gennaro Esposito, Giancarlo Morelli, Gerhard Wieser, Filippo Chiappini Dattilo, Antonino Cannavacciulo, Silvia Regi Baracchi and Norbert Niederkofler.


Another turning point came in 2009: Sapori Ticino became S.Pellegrino Sapori Ticino. A successful coupling: the best known and historical brand of mineral water ties its name to the event, allowing it and the Canton of Ticino that hosts it to gain worldwide visibility. During this edition, the fantasy and imagination of Italian Chefs have followed the mastery and the search for the “Swiss Chefs of the Year”. Dominique Gauthier, Robert Speth, Tanja Grandits, André Jaeger and Martin Dalsass bring a mix of flavours to the table that are able to impress even the most discerning gourmets. S.Pellegrino Sapori Ticino means “love”. Love for a territory, for the kitchen and for good drinks.


So we cannot help but devoting the theme of 2010 to those who know just how to love in the kitchen … women! Ana Ros, Montse Estruch, Anna Sgroi, Luisa Valazza, Sala Ruch-Fukuoka, Anna Matscher and Tanja Grandits gave themselves over gradually to a change in a series of convivial meetings where the female kitchen created excitement every evening. Italian, German, Spanish and Slovenian tastes and flavours met with Swiss ones: a real triumph for the cooks, but especially for the palate of the dinner guests.


Thus we come to 2011, where we had the privilege of hosting several Chefs of the “Grandes Tables de Suisse”. Memorable evenings thanks to the mastery of these Chefs and the atmosphere that they created. Our guests included: André Jaeger, Tommy Byrne & Gilles Dupont, Franz Wiget, Denis Martin, Rico Zandonella, Markus Neff and Pierre-André Ayer.


In 2012, S.Pellegrino Sapori Ticino gave room to young emerging Chefs of Europe. A unique experience that has shown the significance of these Chefs, at such a young age and who have already earned international acclaim. Hosting them was very rewarding for us and we are sure that these young Chefs will be on the tip of our tongues in the very near future. Our guests included: Markus Arnold, Aurora Mazzucchelli, Maryline Nozahic, Anton Schmaus, Edouard Loubet, Ronny Emborg and Pier Giorgio Parini.


And the story goes on, in 2013, the city of Berlin asked us to twin up, contemplating our European level event and its top chefs who have enlivened the evenings where the dishes have been tried and tasted by: Christian Lohse, Michael Kempf, Philipp Jay Meisel, Hendrik Otto, Matthias Diether, Sonja Frühsammer and Marco Müller.


For 2014, however, the event headed back towards home, presenting a really prestigious and exciting theme: the Swiss Deluxe Hotels. The 38 most prestigious 5 stars luxury Swiss hotels with 8 of their Chefs including Pierre Crépaud, Roland Schmid, Andrea Migliaccio, Heiko Nieder, Sandeep Bhagwat, Edgard Bovier, Gregor Zimmermann and Laurent Eperon honoured Ticino with their presence.


The story doesn’t end here. The 2015 edition presented something never seen at the Swiss tables; World’s Top Chefs. 8 Chefs from the world’s 51 best restaurants travelled to Ticino to offer our guests unforgettable moments of culinary mastery. Famous names, known all over the planet, but with a passion for enogastronomy in common with S.Pellegrino Sapori Ticino, as well as the pursuit of quality and excellence: Mauro Colagreco, Massimo Bottura, Andreas Caminada, David Scabin, Diego Munoz, Anand Gaggan, Sven Eleverfeld and Rasmus Kofoed were the 8 protagonists of S.Pellegrino Sapori Ticino 2015.


This is the path that brought us to the edition of the 10th anniversary, a world premiere for the great quality of the proposed program. S.Pellegrino Sapori Ticino – 10 Years counts over 60 Michelin stars among the participating Chefs, a huge achievement for the event that establishes it as one of the best enogastronomic events in the world. Massimo Bottura, Peter Knogl, Pascal Barbot, Eric Pras, Annie Feolde, Enrico Cerea, Thomas Buhner, Christian Bau and Jonnie Boer will be in fact the Chefs that will enliven the official evenings, whose great peculiarity will be to share together the highest award of the Michelin guide, the three stars. The very best of enogastronomy will land in Ticino, from 1 May to 19 June 2016.


11 great dinners (and beyond) for the 11 years of the festival: after 10 years of history, passion for food and wine do not change, as well as the seamless reception and finding big names in kitchen continue to be the leitmotif of the event. For the 2017 s. Pellegrino Sapori Ticino meets Layovers, the Italian Association that brings together many of the best chefs of gastronomy of Italy, to give top notch culinary emotions full of Mediterranean flavours.
Main Partner
Main Partner
Platinum Partner
Platinum Partner